Top 5 Books to Read if You Love Reality TV

Top 5 Books if You Like Reality TV

My attention span for reading is usually pretty great. Typically, I’m able to sit and read without interruption for hours on end. But lately, given all this *gestures at the dark void that has become our planet* my ability to read has dwindled. I’ve found myself grabbing shorter books and lots of graphic novels, and when I really can’t focus, I put on reality TV shows.

Netflix’s timing has been perfect, in a way. What better time has there ever been to binge-watch reality shows? I’ve made my way through Love is Blind, recently finished Too Hot To Handle, and am eagerly looking for a new show to fill my time.

One of my friends suggested I write a post about these shows, but instead, in true book nerd fashion, I’ve put together a list of five books to read if you love reality TV.

The Subtweet, by Vivek Shraya

The Subtweet came out earlier this month, and it was so friggen good! The story follows two female artists, and focuses a lot on their friendship (as well as many other important themes). However, things to start to fall apart when one of them subtweets the other. I’ve never read a book that delves so deeply into the world of social media and the negative effects it can have on individuals. If you want a story packed with online drama, this is for you. Plus, both characters are musicians, so you get an inside look of their creative lives as well.

Snot Girl, by Bryan Lee O’Malley

If you’re also looking for graphic novels, I suggest getting a copy of Snot Girl. This story, which is also beautifully illustrated by Leslie Hung, centers around Lotti: an extremely popular fashion blogger with a very serious allergy problem. Online, she always looks good; she has the hottest clothes, perfect makeup, and attends all the best events. But offline, she’s buried in Kleenex and needs to wash her face. I’ll admit, her character is the worst, but it’s another story full of important social media commentary. Plus, you’ll want to stay up to date with whatever Lotti is doing, trust me.

The Arrangement, by Robyn Harding

The Arrangement is a domestic thriller by a Canadian author (if you’re doing any reading challenges, this one might help you tick off some boxes there). It follows a college student, Natalie, who is struggling to make ends meet between tuition payments and being kicked out of her apartment. So, she takes the advice of one of her friends and signs up on a sugar daddy website. Needless to say, things go wrong. You’ll find yourself constantly guessing what will happen next, and if that doesn’t keep you entertained, the drama around the sugar bowl will.

Crazy Rich Asians, by Kevin Kwan

If you haven’t heard of Crazy Rich Asians, then I can only assume you’ve been living under a rock. This book (now a trilogy and wildly successful movie) was everywhere in 2018. It’s full of glamour and glitz, private rooftop parties, gossip, money, a cast of very different characters with personalities that don’t always mesh, and of course, romance. It has everything you’d want in a good reality TV show. Plus, if you really don’t want to read the book, you can watch the movie instead. I promise I won’t tell anyone.

How to Hack a Heartbreak, by Kristin Rockaway

How to Hack a Heartbreak is for those of you who want a story centered more around dating. It follows the (fictional) story of Melanie Strickland. She’s a 20-something who has had one too many horrible dates, and is fed up with the way men speak to women through online dating apps. So, she develops her own app called JerkAlert where women can report gross dudes who send unsolicited dick pics, are verified cheaters, or do whatever else is deemed creepy and unacceptable in the dating world. It’s a quick read that will keep you entertained, and have you thinking twice before you swipe right again.

One thought on “Top 5 Books to Read if You Love Reality TV

  1. Pingback: Review: Followers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s