Review: Tell Me When You Feel Something

Tell Me When You Feel Something by Vicki Grant

A YA thriller perfect for fans of Karen McManus? As soon as I saw the marketing promo for this book, I knew I needed it. Unfortunately, I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

Content warnings for this book include: sexual assault, r*pe, and grooming.

This book, like many thrillers, flips back and forth between different points of view, and past and present settings. It follows a group of high school students who work as simulated patients at a local med school. One of them ends up in a coma, and while authorities say a drug overdose is to blame, her friends from work think something else caused the accident.

In this story, everyone is hiding secrets and no one knows who to believe, but they have to work together to uncover the truth.

Tell Me When You Feel Something by Vicki Grant deals with a lot of uncomfortable topics. I’m not entirely sure if they were executed well, as the book doesn’t provide a lot of closure or discussion around what happened to the characters. I’d love to discuss with others who have read this one.

As always, thank you to the publisher Penguin Teen Canada for providing me with a digital ARC via NetGalley. Tell Me When You Feel Something by Vicki Grant came out on June 15, and can be purchased wherever books are sold.

One thought on “Review: Tell Me When You Feel Something

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s